The 7Habits of Highly Effective People

“7 habits of highly effective people” is written by Stephen R. The seven habits are be proactive, begin with the end in mind; put first thing first; think win-win; seek first to understand, then to be understood; synergize; sharpen the saw; and from effectiveness to greatness.[1] I think three of those habits fit me well. They are put first thing first, think win-win and sharpen the saw. Putting first thing first is very important to me. I think before I do anything, there are also certain orders we need to consider. For example, I will eat an apple after every dinner. I will never eat one before dinner. Since I already know eating an apple would be helpful for our digestive system. As an organized individual, I always prepare myself. Strengthen my abilities before any threats come up. As a student, we need to prepare ourselves for every different course. At some situations, we need to think about a resolution of win-win situation. We need to think about the problem not only from students’ perspective, but also teachers’ perspective. I always think about that. Just in case, something serious happens in the class. In my opinion, these habits are very useful for us in the workplace, too. Always thinking from your employers’ perspective will make you become a good employee. At that time, your employer would be glad to have an employee like you. Then your salaries would be probably pulled up to other level. This is why we need to think win-win. In addition, sharpen the saw has serious meaning as well. You need to improve yourselves even you are not in certain position. For example, you may learn how to develop your management skills. Once your employer sees it, he may promote you become a supervisor or manager. This is why people call it highly effective habit.

Here is a video for introducing the book. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fbvWN-sWGWE

 

 

Reference

1. “7 habits of highly effective people” by Stephen R

https://www.stephencovey.com/7habits/7habits.php

 


 

One thought on “The 7Habits of Highly Effective People

Leave a Reply

